Virat Kohli to lead India in Champions Trophy in England and Wales

Story By: Rajesh Sharma
Monday, May, 08 2017 - 17:25

India on Monday announced the 15-member squad for the Champions Trophy that will be played in England and Wales between June 1-18.

The defending champions will be lead by Virat Kohli.

Opener Rohit Sharma, fast bowler Mohammed Shami and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin all return after recovering from injury.

Sharma had recovered from a thigh injury while Shami underwent a knee surgery. Both had sustained injuries during India’s marathon home season which saw the hosts playing 13 Tests.  

Former captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and stylish left-hander Yuvraj Singh are also in the squad.

There was no place in the squad for veterans Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh and Ashish Nehra.  

"This is the best team we could have picked for the Champions Trophy. We have gone with a conventional team. They all are proven performers. There were lengthy discussions over some names, but we zeroed in on these 15 names. We are confident of India defending their title," the selection committee chairman MSK Prasad told reporters.

India will play in Group B, alongside Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

The first match against arch-rivals Pakistan will take place on June 4.

India squad:

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Yuvraj Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami


Home > Sports >Cricket
Previous Story
Next Story
Add Comment

The founder of the American adult magazine Playboy, Hugh Hefner died at the age of 91 at his home in Los Angeles. Mr Hefner started publishing Playboy, the largest-selling men's magazine in the world, in 1953. The first edition featured a set of nude photographs of Marilyn Monroe.  Playboy made Hefner a multi-millionaire. His business...

Media Video
Manage Newsletter About Us
Contact Us