Uttar Pradesh Civic Elections: BJP wins 14 mayoral seats

Story By: Rajesh Sharma
Friday, December, 01 2017 - 16:36

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 14 mayoral seats in the Uttar Pradesh municipal elections. The BSP has won two seats.

BJP's mayor candidates have won in Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Ghaziabad, Bareilly, Agra, Firozabad, Ayodhya, Mathura, Lucknow, Kanpur, Saharanpur Jhansi and Bareilly, and Moradabad.

The BSP has won in Aligarh and Meerut.

The BJP set to win mayoral elections in 14 of 16 municipal corporations in Uttar Pradesh.

The state's ruling party is also leading in municipal councils and nagar panchayats.

“I would like to give credit of this win to all BJP workers who worked for the party to communicate its agenda of development to all. I would also like to thank all the voters” Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath told to reporters on Friday.

CM Yogi Adityanath asked voters to support the BJP addressing 26 rallies ahead of the civic body elections.

The election results today come in the Yogi Adityanath's biggest electoral test since coming to power earlier this year. 

The BJP party won 73 of the state's 80 parliament seats three years ago and over 300 of 400 seats in the assembly elections. 


Home > Politics >Politics
Previous Story
Next Story
Add Comment

Ed Westwick
Teen series “Gossip Girl” star, Ed Westwick was removed from BBC's adaptation Agatha Christie drama “Ordeal By Innocence” due to sexual assault allegations made against actor. The 30-year-old English actor and musician who is best known for his role as Chuck Bass on The CW's teen television drama series Gossip Girl, will...

Media Video
Manage Newsletter About Us
Contact Us

Warning: Unknown: write failed: Disk quota exceeded (122) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/tmp) in Unknown on line 0